Weekend Rant: Gamestop, Used Games, and PC Gaming

Posted: July 19, 2010 by NebsiNsaNe in Rant

Let me start off by saying that I don’t like buying used games, nor do I like contributing to the bottom line of stores like GameStop whose only profit come from their used game offerings. These places seem to think a quick buff of a CD for scratch removal makes a game worthy enough for re-sale at $5 off its current market price, and case and manual be damned.  Not to mention the fact that developers don’t see a dime from the re-sale of the games they worked hard to create for us (though that seems to be changing thanks to ideas like BioWare’s Cerberus Network in Mass Effect 2). With that being said..This week GameStop is starting their new Power Saver Sale, which is exactly like their Game Days Sale they have every March, only in July. I love game sales like this; it’s a way for me to catch up on what was hot months ago without having to pay $60 a game. Usually I only buy new, even after the titles are stale and obsolete, (well that, and I’m extremely picky about the condition my games are in) but when a great game like Assassin’s Creed is $1.99 used, I tend to not pass up the offer. Obviously I came home with Assassin’s Creed, as well as Gears of War and Guitar Hero III: Legends of Rock. I spent a little under $10 total for the lot and I would have walked out with a boxed copy of The Witcher on sale for $14.99, but I discovered that my local GameStop STOPPED STOCKING PC GAMES! This game has been $30 since it came out and Ive had my eyes on it for a very long time. I could not pass on the price, had it actually been there!

Why do retail companies and the general population seem to think that PC gaming is dying!? Seriously, I could give a ton of reasons that PC gaming is just as relevant today as it was 30 years ago! Right now there are 45 game developers working on some PC game in North America ALONE! Everything from casual Popcap Games and puzzlers from TellTale Games to heavy hitting AAA titles from BioWare, Valve, id, Epic, Irrational, and Bethesda! And that’s not including the ever-growing MMO market. Blizzard’s Star Craft II is soon to be released and Splash Damage’s Brink is turning heads (especially mine). Valve’s Portal 2, Bethesda’s Fallout: New Vegas, SouthPeak’s Two Worlds II, inXile’s Hunted: The Demon’s Forge, id’s Rage… need I go on? And now GameStop’s ONLY source of profit from PC games will be from the lure of pre-order bonuses, which, for PC at least, end up being total crap. It’s sad, really.

I don’t go to GameStop to buy used games (unless the offer is seriously enticing), I go because I prefer boxed copies of my PC games. Now it seems my only other choices for boxed games are Fry’s and Best Buy, which are expensive as hell, or ordering online and waiting a few days from Amazon or GoGamer. Now that my local GameStop no longer stocks up on PC games, I have practically no reason to give them my money other than when they host giant sales. Even then, I enjoy gaming on my PC more than my consoles.

Comments
  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Jack Sparrow and Jack Sparrow, NebsiNsaNe. NebsiNsaNe said: Weekend Rant: Gamestop, Used Games, and PC Gaming http://bit.ly/b5UJR6 <<Where I rant about the weekend. Don't worry, its project related. […]

Leave a Reply

